Close this search box.

The Esports Awards Recap

Esports Awards

The Esports Awards was a show full of excitement, differences of opinion, and many winners.

The Esports Awards gala took place this past weekend and was celebrated in style. Once again held in Arlington, a town in the state of Texas that baptized the day of the event as the “city of esports,” has brought together influential people, not only in the world of esports but also in the world of video games.

The return of the Esports Awards

The awards ceremony, which could not be held in person due to the pandemic, this year has been celebrated as if it were the Golden Globe or the Oscars of esports. The show achieved a peak of 312k viewers in general on Twitch.

The presentation was hosted by well-known faces of the industry such as GoldenBoy, Dash, and Sjokz from League of Legends, Soe Gschwind from Overwatch, F. from Rocket League, and as an international guest, Nyvi Estephan from Brazil was also part of the host group.

Nominees and most relevant awards of the night

Although a large number of awards were given out, there were a few that were on the radar of the spectators and the audience present at the event. The most talked-about names were the Nadeshot team, 100 Thieves, the Atlanta Faze, Ocelote representing his team G2 esports, and more, all this without counting the nominees who could not attend the gala, among which were the nominees for the most anticipated award of the night, the streamer of the year.

Among the most relevant awards we have:

  • Esports Organization of the Year: 100 Thieves
  • Esports Team of the Year: Atlanta Faze (Call of Duty)
  • Esports PC Player of the Year: Oleksandr ‘s1mple’ Kostyliev
  • Esports Play by Play Caster of the Year: Miles Ross
  • Esports Coach of the Year: Byung-chul “Moon” Moon
  • Esports Host of the Year: Eefje ‘sjokz’ Depoortere
  • Esports Publisher of the Year: Riot Games
  • Esports Mobile Game of the Year: FreeFire
  • Esports Game of the Year: Valorant

Very important the awards mentioned above, but both the production of the event, the spectators and virtual spectators through the different streams were anxiously awaiting the most important award of the night, Streamer of the Year. Streamers like Dr Disrespect, CouRage, Ludwig, Nickmercs, shroud, Coringa, The Grefg, Ibai, and more were nominated. The favorites to win the title were Dr Disrespect, Coringa, CouRage, The Grefg, and Ibai. After waiting for the entire event, finally, Ibai was announced as the winner of the award.

The Spaniard has won the Streamer of the Year award for consecutive years, thanks to the numbers he manages in the Hispanic audience, but the influence he has had on both Hispanic streamers and on the Twitch platform for the impact they have had on their events and transmissions, allowing large companies to take into account streamers as a platform between companies and users.

Ibai’s award has been a clash of opinions, among the many that the event had due to the favoritism of the viewers among the nominees. Even so, the Esports Awards gala was an enjoyable award ceremony, where, looking at the winners from a critical point of view, the right decisions were made.

The Game Awards

The Esports Awards are a prelude to another show, which clearly could be considered the Oscars of video games. Of course, we’re speaking of The Game Awards, where not only streamers are nominated but all big names in the gaming industry.

If you haven’t voted yet, you have until the day before the awards to support the different nominees of the awards. The Game Awards will take place on December 9, 2021.

Share the Post:

Related Posts